Hilary Duff Revealed Her Marriage Plans (She’s So Wise)

Hilary Duff is making a lot of sense these days, huh?

She’s not a robot — being a single mom isn’t exactly a breeze, you know? Having a partner who works closely with you can make that easier, but she says that marriage isn’t necessary. About marriage, she says:

“I don’t want to say I wouldn’t get married again, but it’s not important to me. I don’t feel I would need to be married to have another child. If I felt strongly enough toward someone or if someone felt strongly about it, I might say OK. But it’s not essential.”

She’s right. Two parents can help to give a child support all of the time, but so can friends and relatives. You don’t always need two parents working together, and you certainly don’t need to be married to have children.

Or, you know, to have happiness in your life.

She does talk about some of the challenges that she faces as a single, working mom.

“It’s hard to say that you really can have it all. I think you can to a certain degree, but fully loaded, pedal-all-the-way-down is tough. You’re missing out on something, either on the career or on the family. When I’m really busy with work, I feel extremely guilty.”

That’s understandable, right? But it doesn’t mean that she’s doing a disservice to her 3-year-old. Or to her career. We all hope to achieve a work-life balance. But Hilary’s point that you can totally do that without a spouse is so important for people to hear.

… Even if they’re hearing different voices from most of society. And from their families.

Leave a comment